2014 Chairman of the Board of Directors

2019 PCMA Foundation Lifetime Achievement Honoree

Chris advocated for event professionals to have a seat at the table. “By virtue of their role,” Chris told Convene in a 2015 interview, “meeting professionals — unlike many other positions within an organization — have exposure to executive leadership at the volunteer and staff level and the opportunity to demonstrate their value to the organization. This is where meeting professionals have the chance, which may not be afforded to other staff, to advocate for themselves.”

If your corporation or association is interested in donating, please contact JoAnn Bedrosian Ryan at [email protected]. We can discuss a deferred payment plan or a pledge letter.

*Donors outside of the United States can go to foundation.pcma.org/donate and select the option “In Honor of” and type “Chris Wehking”.

Text to donate:

If you live in the United States, send a text to 41444. Enter prefix “WEHKING,” the dollar amount, your first name and last name.

Example: WEHKING 100 Jane Doe. You will then receive a link to complete the payment process.

If you live outside the U.S, visit the PCMA Foundation’s donation page.

“Chris made so many contributions during his time on the board and was especially instrumental in our efforts to become a more global association. As an executive in the medical meetings sector, Chris also helped PCMA remain in the forefront of medical events, sharing his knowledge of the latest regulations and codes that have had an impact on those events.”

Sherrif Karamat, CAE
President and CEO


“Value each person. Chris built not only a loyal team but literally a global fan base by treating each person, coworker, subordinate, and professional colleague with caring and respect. He took a particular interest in offering the resources and assistance people needed so they could contribute to the best of their ability. Mentorship and career development were core values for Chris. When an individual was struck by a life challenge, an illness, loss of a loved one, or damage from a disaster, he was the first to reach out with an offer of support and would enlist others in this effort as well.”

Paul Pomerantz
ASA Chief Executive Officer


“I had the privilege of being hired by Chris in 2014 at the American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA). He was a wonderful mentor, advocate, and friend. For Chris, ‘connection’ and ‘experience’ weren’t just industry buzzwords, but a way of life. He took the time to personally connect with each individual he met, whether it was the CEO or the cleaning crew. Chris always found a commonality with others, around the world, whether it was children, sports, motorcycles, music or even growing up on a farm.”

Sarah Braun
Director of Component and Intersociety Relations


“Chris mentored many and befriended more. Chris was a best friend. We shared many good times; whether it was on the golf course, industry events, pool time at a “Summit”, dinner, or dinner with friends, watching the horses run in Louisville, bourbon trail, a beer at Richards Bar, or sharing a bottle of “Pappy” passed between our homes. No matter the occasion, Chris would bring his girls into the conversation, Shirley “the bride” or his daughters, Maddie or Lindsey.

His love for them was true and honest. Chris’ other passion was helping others to succeed in their workplace. He mentored many co-workers throughout his career. Whether it was with the Hardware Association, Plastic Surgeons, or Anesthesiologists it really did not matter. His plate was always full, but he made time to talk and listen. Chris believed in creating opportunities for others.”

John “Jack” Patronski
Retired Executive Vice President – Industry Development


Thank you for supporting the Chris Wehking Education Scholarship Fund. 

Amr Abouleish
Kim Allison
Maria Andriola
Colleen Bagnasco
Angelica and Anthony Batha
Tammy Berger
Marc Bernstein
Andy Blackburn
Wanda Johnson Boatman
Manuel Bonilla
Robert Brandt
Sarah Braun
Julie Broussard MD
Tony Calanca
Jeff Cameron
Michele Campbell
Susan Carlson
David Causton
Michael Chameau
Choose Chicago
Alexander Choi
Randall Clark
Melissa Coleman
Stephen Comes
Lois Connolly
Tom Cooper
Tom Corcoran
Michelle Crowley
Sara Curtis
William Daddono
Visit Denver
Destinations International
Visit Detroit
Darryl Diamond
Dave Dolan
Sara and Bob Donovan
Christine Doyle
Michael Duffy
Glenn and Lorna Duncan
Amy Durkin
Sue Dykema
Jody Egel
BJ Enright
Stephen Erenburg
Susan Euritt
Events DC
Bill Farrell
Jean Ferrone
Jeremy Figoten
Jane and John Fitch
John Folks and Max Suzenaar
Mary Gallagher
Dahlia El Gazzar
Adrian Gelb
Maureen Geoghegan
Patrick Giam
Brian and Bill Glasgow
Ben Goedegebuure
Nancy Green
Deborah Greif
Chuck Grouzard
Bill Grusich
Peggy Murray Hagaman
Hall – Erickson, Inc.
Ron and Kathy Harter
Stuart Hayman
Mary Pat Heftman
Theresa McGeary Hill
Leonard Hoops
Bob Hope
Rosemarie Horcher
Kathleen Hughes
Hyatt Hotels Corporation
Visit Indy
Jeff Jacobs
Eric Jacobson
Kim Jansen
Laura Jelinek
Dori Jensen
Karen Johnston
Vilma Joseph
Sherrif Karamat
Susan Katz
John Killacky
Kevin Kirberg
Lauren Kramer
Roberta Kravitz
Kim Lambeth
Kraig de Lanzac, MD
Carol Lazier
Amanda Lembke
Lettuce Entertain You
Philip Levin
Michael Lewis
Tony Lorenz
John Loveless
Jeanne Malone
Mark Manka
Steve Mannarino
Maritz Global Events
David Martin
Timothy Mathy
Nora Matus
Carol McGury
Marriott Global Sales
Carol McGury
Mid-America Carpenters Regional Council
Christine Melendes
Darren Mendola
Christina Menor
Sharon Merrick
James Mesrobian
Andy Mikschl
Thomas Miller
Kristin Mirabal
Timothy A. Moses
Jeff Mueller
Joseph Mulcrone
Julie Mullins
James Murdock
Matt Murnane
Keith Murphy
Heather Nash
New Orleans & Company
Felix Niespodziewanski
Greg Norek
Kirsten Olean
Peter O’Neil
Visit Orlando
Sam Page
Heather Parker
Carrie Freeman Parsons
Leonie Patrick
Jack and Jennifer Patronski
Mary Patton
Cindy Payne
PCMA Greater Midwest Chapter
Marcia Perzyna
Discover Philadelphia
Beverly & James Philip
Evan Pivalizza
Kadejah Pearson
Francine Pepitone
Paul Pomerantz
Matthew Popovich
Mark Prestage
Lise Puckorius
Angie Ranalli
Kathleen Ratcliffe
Elizabeth Rebello
Bill Reed
Brian Reilly
John Reyes
Andrew Rosenberg
Meg Rosenblatt
Debra Rosencrance
Anne Roth
James E. Rooney
Stuart Ruff-Lyon
Robert Ryley
Visit San Antonio
San Diego Tourism Authority
San Francisco Travel Association
Germaine Schaefer
Gonzo Schexnayder
DeLaine Schmitz
Deborah Sexton
Fred Shea
Rick Simon
Janet Skorepa
Krys Slovacek
Claire Smith
Erin Smock
John Solis
Explore St. Louis
Karen Staples
Charles Starks
Lisa M. Steininger
Valerie Sumner
James Sweeney
Joseph Szokol
Megan Tanel
Christie Tarantino-Dean
Norma J. Taylor
Brooke Trainer
Will Trokey
Danielle and Dan Urbina
Dave Weil
John Wells
Nate Wicks
Amy Williams
David and Julie Williams
Russell Wingard
David Wlody
Katherine Wochos
Crystal Wright


Help others by raising significant funds to create scholarships for those deserving individuals. Allow them to further their education and learnings and continue growing within their careers. And as Chris would promote, to advance and “get a seat at the table.” Our goal is to fund 1,000 scholarships for the next generation of business event professionals. Your donation is integral to continuing Chris’ legacy of mentoring and developing young professionals.

Send check payment to:
PCMA Foundation
Re: Chris Wehking
38407 Eagle Way
Chicago, IL 60678-1352

We thank you for your consideration in honoring Chris Wehking for his contributions to PCMA and the industry. 100% of the funds will be used for scholarships in his name.

Jojo DuChris Wehking Education Scholarship Fund